If I could reinvent TV in my image

January 5, 2010

Here is what I want from TV programmers/distributors:

I mainly watch sports, news and movies.

For movies at home, I have pretty much have moved to Netflix (great service!).   The streaming side of Netflix needs a wider range of content.   Hopefully, that will evolve.

For news, I’ve pretty much moved to podcasts on iTunes (e.g., Meet the Press, NBC Nightly News, Nightly Business Report).  I pretty much only watch live news at the gym or when an event is in progress (e.g., an election).

Sports is what keeps me locked in as a cable customer.  There really isn’t an option for live sports streaming that includes local teams on the Internet. For example, NBA.com blocks local Portland Trailblazers games.  The Trailblazers are, thus far, streaming a limited number of games.  I remain a Comcast customer primarily for sports.

I would like to cancel cable and move to Internet only.  It’s easy enough to stream shows from my computer to the big screen (perhaps I will move to another solution like Apple TV).  I would like to sign up for a monthly subscription with iTunes for unlimited, commercial free, access to TV shows (news and entertainment).  I would also like a streaming solution that allows me to watch live sports without limitation.  I would gladly pay for that too.

I’m not holding my breath 🙂

Leave a Reply

