How many iPhone apps do I really need? Not many…

January 28, 2010

Here are the iPhone apps that I use on a regular basis.  There aren’t many, actually.  I really need to clean out my iPhone (I counted over 160 apps and I’ve already deleted many).  Email, Phone, SMS, iPod, Camera, and contacts = 90% of actual use.   In no particular order:

  • NYTimes
  • Facebook (I primarily use Facebook this way)
  • MSNBC.com (more for the news notices versus the actual app)
  • Sportacular (real time sports scores)
  • Pandora (I wish iPhone had longer battery life)
  • Shazam (I don’t use it that often, but it’s simply amazing)
  • Wall Street Journal
  • TechCrunch
  • LinkedIn
  • Urbanspoon (don’t use that often, but it’s still a favorite)
  • Foursquare and Gowalla (more testing because they are getting so much attention)
  • TweetDeck
  • Light (must have)

This reminds me of the Facebook app craze in many ways.  Too many apps.  Not many are actually useful.  The vast majority are used only once.

Here is a great graph showing just how few iPhone apps are actually used.

One Response to “How many iPhone apps do I really need? Not many…”

  1. Timothy Says:

    I think that the Google Speak app is pretty needed.


Leave a Reply

